+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Ring around conch stretch

Ring around conch stretch

So I have been stretching my conch's now for a few years from 1.6mm to at the minute 9mm. I have always stretched slowly and never skipped sizes, I use concave tapers and Gorilla Glass conch plugs to stretch. I have got a ring around one of my conch stretches (see picture attached, apologies for my bad quality!) which appeared a few days after my latest stretch to 9mm, Im not sure if this is a blow out or hypertrophic scarring as ive never had either. Im really not sure what it is - I was wondering if someone could help me out?

I have been taking good care of it, doing SSS twice daily (1/4 teaspoon sea salt to 1 cup of boiled, warm water) and have begun to add a camomile tea bag to the salt water solution every other day in the hope that that may also help.

There is no seeping or puss and no bleeding, i have no pain or discomfort im just trying to figure out what the ring is and how I may get rid of it! I have always worn glass in my conches and this is much more comfy for me.
    Last edited by Shine; 06-24-2013 at 10:06 AM.

Stretching cartilage is a lot different than stretching a lobe. If I were you, I would consider removing the jewellery, letting it calm down, and getting it punched to the desired size. The issue is that cartilage is so rigid and has no place to go - even if you wait a year or more between stretches (1.6mm to 9mm in cartilage at a "normal" rate should have taken the better part of a decade), there is just no place for it to displace to if you stretch and stretch. 1.6mm to 9mm is a LOT - and a lot of tissue that has been displaced and perhaps it has finally collapsed.

I would remove all jewellery and contact a piercer about your options - if it's collapsed/liquefied/deformed tissue (or maybe just the excess skin), your best bet is to have it removed.